On dresses

by Alice

From Alabama Chanin

That dress. It looks like peace and simplicity. And please click through here and take a closer look at those details. Awe. My dress designer (a gal who basically grew up as a sister to me) pointed me in this direction and asked if I liked the aesthetic of Alabama Chanin. Ummm…yes.

So that’s the beginning of the inspiration for my dress. The feeling it gives off in its simplicity.

Meanwhile, I need to say something about Mother-of-the-Bride dresses. Do people actually buy those? Do they love their mothers?

The Rose Dress, featured on TheKnot.com

All of these designers came out of the woodworks and started making cute, fun, wearable dresses for bridesmaids: LulaKate, The Dessy Group, J Crew, Simple Silhouettes; and they forgot about the mothers!

At least they got it off to a good start with the bridesmaids. I tried on some of LulaKate’s collection over the weekend and love it! This dress fit beautifully and should be a winner:

