Among the Weeds, Daisies and Sky Scrapers

by Alice

Over the weekend, Jon and I cut through the High Line Park on our way to brunch. As I was trying to describe this newly opened phenomenon to my mom, I realized that I didn’t really know much about it myself.

 

Courtesy of the High Line Web site thehighline.org

Courtesy of the High Line Web site thehighline.org

 

 

Sure, I’d been there a few times, and I thought it was an awesome space in the city. A natural and green place where people can walk and relax, looking down the cars for some stretch of land, 10 blocks? 15? I wasn’t really sure. I just liked it.

As it turns out, the park may have opened this summer, but the High Line has been there since the 1930s, when it was built to run freight trains above the city streets. But the last train to run on that line carried 3 cars full of frozen turkeys in 1980. The elevated rail was left to decay and weeds for about 20 years before people started working on its reuse.

 

Courtesy of High Line Web site highline.org

Courtesy of High Line Web site thhighline.org

 

 

 

Now we have a lovely, sunny park, from Gansevoort Street to 20th Street, and in 2010 that will be expanded up to 30th Street.

