Lazing around while I can

by Alice

I probably should be sifting through a box or two to try to clean out our “dining room”. Or maybe figure out what to put on that empty bookshelf that’s sitting in front of the fire place. It would be against the wall, but we haven’t really gotten around to asking the French neighbors if we can bring the boxspring up through their place and push it over to our deck. So the boxspring is sitting against the wall in the middle of our living room.

Despite the fact that our housewarming party is 2 weeks away, Jon and I decided to go to the beach today. The weather was wonderfully hot and dry, so three of our friends and a dog drove down to the New Jersey Island Beach State Park. The dunes sloping on the coast were magnificent, and difficult enough to walk through that I got quite a workout.

Now I’m sitting on the couch, beach hair, sandy toes, random splotches of red on the pieces of skin the sunscreen missed when I reapplied. Perfectly content. Except that everything around me is in disarray. Anna asked if we knew what we were planning for the party, and a slight terror gripped me — I have to actually plan a party? I brushed it off with a comment about the unknown weather that day, but I haven’t even figured out where to put all of our junk, let alone what we’ll do to entertain!

That is the next thing on my list, to clean this place up. This weekend. Right now! That is, after I finish off my perfect summer Saturday with a cookout at Anna’s…

